

STATE OF ARIZONA BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH EXAMINERS 3443 NORTH CENTRAL AVENUE, SUITE 1700

PHOENIX, AZ 85012

PHONE: 602.542.1882 FAX: 602.364.0890

Board Website: www.azbbhe.us

Email Address: information@azbbhe.us

DOUGLAS A. DUCEY Governor TOBI ZAVALA Executive Director

COUNSELING ACADEMIC REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Friday, December 15, 2017

Members Present: Janet O'Connor, Kathleen Britton

Members Absent: Patricia Kerstner

Staff Present: Tobi Zavala, Executive Director; Elma Brambila, Credentialing Specialist

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order on December 15, 2017, at 9:008 a.m., with Ms. Britton presiding.

2. Roll Call

See above.

3. Review and Approval of Minutes

A. November 29, 2017, general meeting minutes

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to approve the November 29, 2017, general meeting minutes as submitted. The motion passed unanimously.

B. October 26, 2016, amended general meeting minutes

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to approve the October 26, 2016, amended general meeting minutes as submitted. The motion passed unanimously.

4. Report from Chair

No report.

5. Report from the Executive Director and/or staff

A. General Agency Operations

No report

6. Assistant Attorney General's Report: Marc Harris, A.A.G.

No report.

7. Supervisor exemption requests: review, consideration and action

None

8. Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding requests for deficiency extensions

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to approve the consent agenda as presented granting 60-day extension to Kaitlyn Johnson, Janet Judd, Jasmine Myers and Nefertari White. The motion passed unanimously.

9. Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding applications requesting review under rules prior to November 1, 2015

None

10. Exam extension and/or accommodation requests: review, consideration and action

None

11. Applications for licensure: review, consideration and possible action

A. Review, consideration, and possible action regarding applications for licensure

The Committee broke for lunch at 11:50 a.m., reconvening its public meeting at 12:27 p.m.

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to recommend to the Board to approve Amanda Conerly and Katherine Feather as Licensed Professional Counselors by endorsement upon receipt of the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve Carol Hurley as Licensed Professional Counselors by endorsement upon receipt a passing score on the required exam and the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 7 as Licensed Professional Counselors upon receipt of the required license issuance fee.

Rebecca Wilson Ijeoma Ogbuchiekwe Christina McKelvy Danielle Reilly

Tiffany Corwin Ina Hilgers Mary O'Neil

The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to recommend to the Board to approve Tony Ledbetter as Licensed Associate Counselors upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam and the required license issuance fee.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to deny Maya Rain, Amanda Golightly, Michelli Simpson and Michele Hawley based on their failure to establish that they meets minimum licensure requirements. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to recommend to the Board to deny Brian Dement based on failure to establish that he meet minimum requirements by endorsement and pending the Board's disposition of the background investigation while final action cannot be taken on the application until the investigation is complete. The motion passed unanimously.

Following review, members requested additional information from Deanaha Romero and requested for Board staff to forward file to investigations.

Following review, members requested additional information on the following applications:

Dalisa Jimenez Melissa Evans Greene Janis Duwe Katherine Farner

Albin Plonyi, Jr. Dawn Morris Lauren Mehr

Names of applicants whose files were scheduled for review and subsequently were tabled due to loss of quorum are listed on the last page of these minutes.

B. Appeals

1. Jade Collett

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant was properly noticed, but did not appear.

Following review and discussion, Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to accept CP 510 Counseling Skills Training for Helping relationship; and to recommend to the Board to deny the appeal based on continued curriculum deficiencies. The motion passed unanimously.

2. Diane Larson

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion, Ms. O'Connor, moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to deny the appeal based on continued curriculum deficiencies. The motion passed unanimously.

12. Applications for educational programs: review, consideration and possible action.

A. Phoenix Seminary Master of Arts in Counseling change request Members reviewed the information regarding the program.

Dr. Justin Smith from Phoenix Seminary addressed the committee.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve the changes to the Master of Arts in Counseling. The motion passed unanimously.

13. Future agenda items

None

14. Call for public comment

No one was present to respond to the call for public comment.

15. Establishment of future meeting dates

The next meeting is scheduled for Friday January 26, 2018, at 9:00 a.m., at 1740 West Adams St, Phoenix, AZ 85007.

16. Adjournment

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 2:17 p.m.

te

The Counseling Academic Review Committee lost quorum and could not review the applications listed below. These applications will be reviewed first during the committee's next monthly meeting on January 26, 2018.

Jaqueline Ojala

Tabitha Huff

Alyssa Engles