

STATE OF ARIZONA BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH EXAMINERS 3443 NORTH CENTRAL AVENUE, SUITE 1700

PHOENIX, AZ 85012

PHONE: 602.542.1882 FAX: 602.364.0890

Board Website: www.azbbhe.us

Email Address: information@azbbhe.us

DOUGLAS A. DUCEY Governor TOBI ZAVALA Executive Director

COUNSELING ACADEMIC REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Friday, December 16, 2016

Members Present: Patricia Kerstner, Janet O'Connor, Kathleen Britton (in at 9:07 am, out at 12:00 pm)

Staff Present: Tobi Zavala, Executive Director; Elma Brambila, Credentialing Specialist;

Zuri De Luzio, Credentialing Specialist

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order on December 16, 2016, at 9:01 a.m., with Dr. Kerstner presiding.

2. Roll Call

See above.

3. Review and Approval of Minutes

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to approve the November 18, 2016, general meeting minutes as submitted. The motion passed unanimously.

4. Report from Chair

No report.

5. Report from the Executive Director and/or staff

A. General Agency Operations

No report

6. Assistant Attorney General's Report: Marc Harris, A.A.G.

No report.

7. Supervisor exemption requests: review, consideration and action

A. Lee Pinkerton (outside supervisor)

Members reviewed information submitted regarding the request for exemption.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to approve the request for an outside supervisor. The motion passed unanimously.

8. Applications for reassessment: Review, consideration and action

A. Menaj Shamsaee

Members reviewed the reassessment request.

Following review and discussion, members agreed the applicant meets minimum requirements.

9. Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding requests for deficiency extensions

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to approve the consent agenda as presented granting 60-day extension to George Moredock, Michelle Biuso, Sara Luce, Marcella Taylor, Stephanie Wheeler and Aura Ortiz. The motion passed unanimously.

10. Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding applications requesting review under rules prior to November 1, 2015

None

11. Exam extension and/or accommodation requests: review, consideration and action

None

12. Applications for licensure: review, consideration and possible action

A. Review, consideration, and possible action regarding applications for licensure

The Committee broke for lunch at 12:05 p.m., reconvening its public meeting at 12:58 p.m.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 11 applicants as Licensed Professional Counselors upon receipt of the required license issuance fee:

Menaj Shamsaee Deborah Monninger Jenniffer Zimmerman Heather Rogers Kae Rehma Carrie Hitchler Stephanie Fruhling Maria Avena

Molly Port Angel Montemayor Mary Aiton

The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 9 applicants as Licensed Professional Counselor by endorsement upon receipt of the required license issuance fee:

Lauren RobinsonSheila WeisbrodYvonne DeMossKristen LongRyan DailySharon Ball DaleAllison FossellaAnn Unrast

William Cunningham

The motion passed unanimously

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve Emalee Grant, Sherry Johnson, Laura Clark, Michael Hanafin and Dana Strickland as Licensed Associate Counselors upon receipt of the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve Angelina Renna, Amanda Bernal, Kimberly Jackowski, Shawna Chesley-Kroh and Laura Smyth as Licensed Associate Counselors upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam and the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to recommend to the Board to deny Julie LaJoe, Robin Johnson and Rebecca Lane based on their failure to establish that they meet minimum requirements in supervised work experience. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve Rebekah Dwyer as a Licensed Associate Counselor upon receipt of the required license issuance fee, and the Board's disposition of the background investigation. The motion passed unanimously.

Following review, members requested additional information on the following applications:

Joni Delaney Tara Cleveland-Dickey John McLean Stacie MacArthur

Melissa RegisterAshley StanoCindy MontgomeryBlake PindyckEva CenterRichard Thomas

Names of applicants whose files were scheduled for review and subsequently were tabled due to loss of quorum are listed on the last page of these minutes.

B. Appeals

1. Nephaterria Harris

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion, members requested additional information.

2. Ruth Morgan Spann

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion by members, Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to accept CO 809 Counseling Theories as meeting requirements for a course in Social and cultural diversity and to recommend to the Board to deny the appeal based on continuing curriculum deficiencies. The motion passed unanimously.

3. Kae Rehma

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

The applicant's Clinical Supervisor Curtis Randolph and Bryon Matsuda, Director Coconino County Juvenile Court Services addressed the committee telephonically.

Following review and discussion, members agreed the applicant meets minimum requirements.

4. Cher Roanhorse

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant could not be reached telephonically at the number provided.

Following review and discussion by members, Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to accept PSY 511 Psychological Assessment and PSY 570 Advanced Psychopathology and Diagnosis as meeting requirements for a course in Assessment and to recommend to the Board to deny the appeal based on continuing curriculum deficiencies. The motion passes unanimously.

13. Applications for educational programs: review, consideration and possible action.

None

14. Future agenda items

None

15. Call for public comment

No one was present to respond to the call for public comment.

16. Establishment of future meeting dates

The next meeting is scheduled for Friday, January 13, 2017, at 9:00 a.m., at 3443 North Central Avenue, Room 1705.

17. Adjournment

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 4:10 p.m.

Janet O'Connor	Date
Secretary/Treasurer	

The Counseling Academic Review Committee lost quorum and could not review the applications listed below. These applications will be reviewed first during the committee's next monthly meeting on January 13, 2017.

Amanda Deemer Kayla Kuykendall Patrick Reynolds Donna Sheperis Sheila Avery Stacie Brown Sarah Cortez Brenna Peck Mike Petagna Stephanie Kelly Sarah Cox Innocent Obuah Megan Steinsdoerfer Jamie McGrath Inyang Udo-Ema Erin Abel Jared McGrath Deanna Iwai Daquana Carter Amanda Rispoli Traci Grabb Rachel White Brenna Gonzales Michelle Johnson Kellye Kohn Camille McCormick Marcella Morgan

Iris Alvarez

Ralitsa Wierson