

STATE OF ARIZONA BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH EXAMINERS 1740 WEST ADAMS STREET, SUITE 3600

PHOENIX, AZ 85007

PHONE: 602.542.1882 FAX: 602.364.0890

Board Website: www.azbbhe.us

Email Address: information@azbbhe.us

DOUGLAS A. DUCES
Governor

TOBI ZAVALA Executive Director

COUNSELING ACADEMIC REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Friday, December 18, 2020

Members Present: Janet O'Connor, Patricia Kerstner

Staff Present: Tobi Zavala, Executive Director; Elma Brambila, Credentialing Manager

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order on December 18, 2020 at 9:00 a.m., with Dr. Kerstner presiding.

2. Roll Call

See above.

3. Review and Approval of Minutes

A. October 23, 2020 general meeting minutes

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to approve the general meeting minutes for the October 23, 2020 meeting as submitted. The motion passed unanimously.

4. Report from Chair

No report.

5. Report from the Executive Director and/or staff

A. General agency operations
No report

6. Assistant Attorney General's Report:

No report.

7. Supervisor exemption requests: review, consideration and action

None

8. <u>Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding requests for deficiency extensions and examination</u>

A. Kathryn Roaleen, LPC applicant (60-day deficiency extension)

Following review and discussion, Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to approve the consent agenda as presented. The motion passed unanimously

9. Exam accommodation and/or 90-day waiver request: review, consideration and action

A. Laura Gboeach, LAC applicant (exam accommodation)

Members reviewed information regarding the request for an exam accommodation.

Following review and discussion, Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to approve the request for an exam accommodation. The motion passed unanimously.

10. Applications for licensure: review, consideration and possible action

A. Review, consideration, and possible action regarding applications for licensure

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend Alison Selig as a Licensed Associate Counselor upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to recommend Ashley Webb, Candace Wilkins, Natalie Prill Irvine and Alondra Millan as Licensed Associate Counselors. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to deny Tina Wade based on her failure to establish she meets minimum licensure requirements pending the Board's disposition of the background investigation while final action cannot be taken until the investigation is complete. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to recommend to the Board to deny Jan Lamoreaux, Candice Fellheimer, Lynsey Cohn, Shatha Musleh and Fazila Gore based on their failure to establish that they meet minimum licensure requirements for substance abuse licensure. The motion passed unanimously.

Following review, members requested additional information on the following applications:

Caitlin Adams Halina Brooke Maria Casiano Deena Hitzke Sonia Kim Dianne McGlinchey

Raquel Ramirez Wesley Whittaker

The committee tabled the application of Benjamin Meyer.

B. Appeals

None

11. Applications for educational programs: review, consideration and possible action.

A. Devine Mercy University, Master of Science in Counseling, Clinical Mental Health.

Dr. Harvey Payne, Academic Dean, Dr. John West, Program Director; and Jessie Tappel, Program Assistant, Devine Mercy University appeared telephonically and were available for questions.

Following review and discussion by members, Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to find the curriculum deficient. The motion passed unanimously.

12. Future agenda items

None

13. Call for public comment

No one was present to respond to the call for public comment.

14. Establishment of future meeting dates

15. Adjournment Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Conr and the meeting was adjourned at 3:28 p.m.	nor, to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously
Janet O'Connor Secretary/Treasurer	Date

The next regular meeting is scheduled for Friday, January 22, 2021, at 9:00 a.m., at 1740 West

Adams St., Board Room B, Phoenix, AZ 85007.