

STATE OF ARIZONA BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH EXAMINERS 3443 NORTH CENTRAL AVENUE, SUITE 1700

PHOENIX, AZ 85012

PHONE: 602.542.1882 FAX: 602.364.0890

Board Website: www.azbbhe.us

Email Address: information@azbbhe.us

DOUGLAS A. DUCEY Governor

TOBI ZAVALA Executive Director

COUNSELING ACADEMIC REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Friday, January 13, 2017

Members Present: Patricia Kerstner (in at 9:02 am), Janet O'Connor, Kathleen Britton

Staff Present: Elma Brambila, Credentialing Specialist

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order on January 13, 2017, at 9:01 a.m., with Ms. O'Connor presiding.

2. Roll Call

See above.

3. Review and Approval of Minutes

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to approve the December 16, 2016, general meeting minutes as submitted. The motion passed unanimously.

4. Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding requests for deficiency extensions

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to approve the consent agenda as presented granting 60day extension to Traci Brown, Amber Williams and Ashley Hidalgo. The motion passed unanimously.

5. Applications for licensure: review, consideration and possible action

A. Review, consideration, and possible action regarding applications for licensure

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve Inyang Udo-Edo, Brenna Gonzales, Camielle McCormick and Traci Grabb as Licensed Professional Counselors upon receipt of the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve Donna Sheperis as a Licensed Professional Counselor by endorsement upon receipt of the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously. Dr. Kerstner recused.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to recommend to the Board to approve Jared McGrath as a Licensed Associate Counselor upon receipt of the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve Bianca Mocha, Rique Pineda, Kayla Kuykendall, and Iris Alvarez as Licensed Associate Counselors upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam and the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to deny Daquana Carter, Jessica Koh, Kellye Kohn and Innocent Obuah based on their failure to establish that they meet minimum requirements in requirements in education and/or supervised work experience. The motion passed unanimously.

Following review, members requested additional information on the following applications:

Amanda Deemer Megan Steinsdoerfer Rachel White Ralitsa Wierson

Brenna Peck Erin Abel Sheila Avery Deanna Iwai Sarah Cortez Jamie McGrath Stephanie Kelly Sarah Cox

Names of applicants whose files were scheduled for review and subsequently were tabled due to loss of quorum are listed on the last page of these minutes.

6. Future agenda items

None

7. Call for public comment

No one was present to respond to the call for public comment.

8. Establishment of future meeting dates

The next meeting is scheduled for Friday, January 20, 2017, at 9:00 a.m., at 3443 North Central Avenue, Room 1705.

9. Adjournment

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 12:36 p.m.

Jonet O'Common	Data
Janet O'Connor	Date
Secretary/Treasurer	

The Counseling Academic Review Committee lost quorum and could not review the applications listed below. These applications will be reviewed first during the committee's next monthly meeting on January 20, 2017.

Patrick Reynolds Amanda Rispoli Stephanie Love Stacie Brown Michelle Johnson Mike Petagna

Marcella Morgan