

STATE OF ARIZONA BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH EXAMINERS 1740 WEST ADAMS STREET, SUITE 3600

PHOENIX, AZ 85007

PHONE: 602.542.1882 FAX: 602.364.0890

Board Website: www.azbbhe.us

Email Address: <u>information@azbbhe.us</u>

DOUGLAS A. DUCEY
Governor
TOBI ZAVALA
Executive Director

COUNSELING ACADEMIC REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Members Present: Kathleen Britton, Janet O'Connor

Members Absent: Patricia Kerstner

Staff Present: Elma Brambila, Credentialing Specialist

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order on May 21, 2019 at 9:01 a.m., with Ms. Britton presiding.

2. Roll Call

See above.

3. Review and Approval of Minutes

A. April 26, 2019, general meeting minutes

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to approve the April 26, 2019, general meeting minutes as submitted. The motion passed unanimously.

4. Report from Chair

No report.

5. Report from the Executive Director and/or staff

A. General Agency Operations

No report.

6. Assistant Attorney General's Report: Marc Harris, A.A.G.

No report.

7. Supervisor exemption requests: review, consideration and action

None

8. Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding requests for deficiency extensions and examination

None

9. <u>Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding applications requesting review under</u> rules prior to November 1, 2015

None

10. Exam accommodation requests: review, consideration and action

None

11. Applications for licensure: review, consideration and possible action

A. Review, consideration, and possible action regarding applications for licensure

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 6 as Licensed Professional Counselors upon receipt the required license issuance fee.

William Shanahan Candice Smith Bernadette Roumbos
Tawny White Benyamin Ayantola Jeannie Bennett

The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve Rebecca Palmer, Abigail Lindsay and Myrna McAfee as Licensed Associate Counselors upon receipt of the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve Kim Fisher, Kirby Oxenreider, Ellhaum Sivill and Bruce McMorran as Licensed Professional Counselors by endorsement upon receipt of the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to recommend to the Board to approve Clarence Youngs, Jr., Kathleen Susienka, Debra Sandgren, Sarah Cappelli and Philip Tong as Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists by endorsement upon receipt of the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve Karen Ruskin as a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist by endorsement upon receipt of the required Board approved tutorial on Board statutes and rules and receipt of the license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve Jennifer Jepson, Bethany Camp and Jo-Ann Vaughn as Licensed Clinical Social Workers by endorsement upon receipt of the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to recommend to the Board to approve Amanda Istvan and Michelle Miller as Licensed Master Social Workers by endorsement upon receipt of the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to deny Shaniqua Rowan-Bennett, Karen Louis, Mary Weissmueller, Maureen Heier and Summer Berry based on their failure to establish that they meet minimum licensure requirements. The motion passed unanimously.

Following review, members requested additional information on the following applications:

Miriam TurnerMary JacksonOlukemi AkinbusuyiAlexander ChandlerJill MonsonAnagha PhadkuleNha TranCharles SharpeTamara Van BerkelMarcella BrownRoy CutterJoanna Parris

Lynda Weathersbee Andrea Hofmeyer-Lustfield

The Committee tabled the review of the application of Shannon Sims.

B. Appeals

1. Rebecca Palmer, LAC applicant

Members reviewed the information regarding the appeal.

The applicant was properly noticed, but did not appear.

Following review and discussion, members agreed the applicant meets minimum requirements.

13. Future agenda items None
14. <u>Call for public comment</u> No one was present to respond to the call for public comment.
15. Establishment of future meeting dates The next meeting is scheduled for Friday June 28, 2019, at 9:00 a.m., at 1740 West Adams St, Board Room C, Phoenix, AZ 85007.
16. Adjournment Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 2:47 p.m.
Patricia Kerstner Date Secretary/Treasurer

 $\begin{array}{c} \textbf{12.} \ \underline{\textbf{Applications for educational programs: review, consideration and possible action.}} \\ \text{None} \end{array}$